Event organizer: Le Cercle des économistes
Media Center

Following health constraints and the ban on public gatherings that forbid us to welcome any public, we have changed the organization of the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix en Provence on July 2, 3, 4 and 5, 2020 with debates broadcasted from the house of the Radio in Paris.

The Rencontres Économiques become “Aix en Seine”.

As a consequence, we have to modify certain provisions of the conditions of participation of “La Parole aux 18-28” because we are not able to welcome the 120 selected candidates, in Aix-en-Provence on July 2, 3, 4 and 5, 2020.

The modalities of participation in the dedicated program of “La Parole aux 18-28” and the Award Ceremony will be communicated to you very soon.

 

Article 1: Presentation of the call to candidacy for La Parole aux 18-28

Organized by the Cercle des économistes, the call for candidates for La Parole aux 18-28, aims to select 100 young people (18-28 years old) to invite them to participate in the 20th Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence on July 3, 4 and 5.

To be won: 3 exceptional days of debates and sessions and a programme dedicated to young people, a morning of original Master classes, exclusive and informal meetings with a panel of prestigious speakers, organised speeches and cultural evenings + a prize of 1,000 euros for each of the three winners.

The 100 selected candidates will be invited by the Cercle des économistes, which will cover the cost of transport between Paris and Aix-en-Provence or Aix-en-Provence and Aix-en-Provence, accommodation for the nights of 2, 3 and 4 July 2020, food and drink for the three days and cultural evenings.

Selection in two stages:
Stage 1: Selection of the 100 young people
Step 2: Selection of the three winners of the La Parole aux 18-28

Submit your application on www.laparoleaux18-28.fr

Step 1 

  • 20 December 2019: Call for applications opens.
  • February 23, 2020 at midnight : Closing of the call for applications.

=> March 16, 2020: Publication of the list of the 100 people selected by the Cercle des économistes on the website La Parole aux 18-28 who will be invited to the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence.

Step 2 

  • March 17, 2020: Launching a call for written contributions to the 100 selected people on the theme of the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence 2020 , “Dealing with world’s disorders“, to win one of the three “La Parole aux 18-28” prizes, each worth 1,000 euros…
  • April 19, 2020: Closure of the call for papers on the theme of the Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence 2020..
  • 11 May 2020 : Deliberation of the jury chaired by Etienne Klein, physicist, research director at the CEA and doctor in philosophy of science, to elect the three winners of the Prix La Parole aux 18-28.

=> 18 May 2020 : Announcement of the three winners of the prize La Parole aux 18-28, 2020 edition.

Step 3

  • 3, 4 and 5 July 2020 : Participation of the 100 people selected at the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence. and awarding of the 3 winners of the “La Parole aux 18-28” Prize (arrival to be expected from midday on 2 July).

La Parole aux 18-28 is supported by the Ministry of National Education, Higher Education and Research (MESR), Aix-Marseille University (AMU), the Conference of Directors of French Engineering Schools (CDEFI), the Conference of Grandes Ecoles (CGE), the Conference of University Presidents (CPU) as well as numerous partner companies and student associations.

 

Article 2: Presentation of the context: les Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence

Each year at the Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence, a precursor theme is chosen and developed during several sessions and debates, bringing together academics, political figures, representatives of international institutions and business leaders from around the world with the aim of feeding the economic debate on a French, European and international scale. These Rencontres have become France’s largest economic forum thanks to an ever-growing programme.

A growing audience and the demanding nature of the debates have made this event famous, reflecting the commitment of the Cercle des économistes and its members to open economic debate in France, Europe and the world.

 

Article 3: Description of the Theme

The 2020 edition of the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence will have as its title and main theme :

Dealing with world’s disorders

The themes of the last three editions thus constitute a veritable triptych around the new aspirations of everyone, the transformation of our models of society and the evolution of relations between economic agents. These three years of analysis, reflection and debate have made it possible to identify the most pressing issues, to understand everyone’s desires and to sketch out acceptable global solutions. However, analysis and proposals are no longer enough to deal with the urgency of the problems facing our societies. This 20th edition should therefore be one of commitment, a call to action and cooperation.

The seriousness of the current context is now widely acknowledged, but the risks we have identified remain without any concrete response: climate change; the gradual abandonment of multilateralism; democratic backsliding; major geopolitical tensions; anxiety about the accelerating development of new technologies; social and territorial divides; disruption of lifestyles and consumption patterns… This distressing description should not, however, paralyse us. On the contrary, inaction would be the worst response to these different issues. We must now implement concrete actions at all levels, whether economic or social, technological or political, collective or individual, coordinated or privately initiated… But there are still many obstacles and questions:

  • How to act in a complex and non-cooperative world?
  • Is individual action too marginal to have an impact?
  • Should the strategy be defined by the State, institutions or actors?
  • Does technology lock us in or give us new means?
  • Will the European Union be stronger without the United Kingdom?
  • Are we too timid to save our planet?

 

Article 4: Terms and conditions of participation

All young people (students, working people, etc.) between 18 and 28 years of age, resident in metropolitan France for the current year, are invited to participate in this call for applications.

Participation implies and entails unreserved acceptance of these rules in their entirety.

 

Article 5: How to register

The application should include:

  • The registration form duly completed including the answers to the questions defining the motivation, project, personality of the candidate completed for the validation of the file. The registration form is available on the website: www.laparoleaux18-28.fr
  • A complete CV in pdf format
  • A copy of a proof of identity (NIC or passport)
  • A declaration on honour indicating that the candidate has read and accepted the conditions of registration of “La Parole aux 18-28”. In case of selection, the candidate commits to participate in the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence from Thursday afternoon, July 2 to Sunday afternoon, July 5, 2020 at 2:00 pm.

All the documents in the participation file must be submitted on the www.laparoleaux18-28.fr website before midnight on 23 February 2020.

Consideration of the application becomes effective upon receipt of the complete file.

 

Article 6: Calendar of the Call for Nominations

Step 1 

  • 20 December 2019: Call for applications opens.
  • February 23, 2020 at midnight : Closing of the call for applications.

=> March 16, 2020: Publication of the list of the 100 people selected by the Cercle des économistes on the website La Parole aux 18-28 who will be invited to the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence.

Step 2 

  • March 17, 2020: Launching a call for written contributions to the 100 selected people on the theme of the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence 2020 , “Dealing with world’s disorders”, to win one of the three “La Parole aux 18-28” prizes, each worth 1,000 euros…
  • April 19, 2020: Closure of the call for papers on the theme of the Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence 2020..
  • 11 May 2020 : Deliberation of the jury chaired by Etienne Klein, physicist, research director at the CEA and doctor in philosophy of science, to elect the three winners of the Prix La Parole aux 18-28.

=> 18 May 2020 : Announcement of the three winners of the prize La Parole aux 18-28, 2020 edition.

Step 3

  • 3, 4 and 5 July 2020 : Participation of the 100 people selected at the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence. and awarding of the 3 winners of the “La Parole aux 18-28” Prize (arrival to be expected from midday on 2 July).

 

Article 7: Candidate’s commitments

The candidate undertakes, if selected, to participate in the days of the Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence on July 3, 4 and 5, 2020. Arrival to be scheduled for Thursday, July 2 at midday.

The candidate guarantees to the Cercle des économistes that he or she has all the rights to the images, texts and other elements found in his or her work on the programme of the Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence 2020.

 

Article 8: Procedure for the selection of winners and evaluation criteria

Step 1:The selection of the 100 applicants aged 18-28 will be made on the basis of a CV and the motivation expressed in response to the questions asked.

They will be selected by the Cercle des économistes. The selection procedure will take into account the diversity of training and experience, the background of the candidates and their motivation to participate in the Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence.

  • Rigour and originality of the argumentation in order to participate in the Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence
  • Interest of the answers to the personality/project questions.

Step 2 (optional): Among the 100 selected in step 1, those who wish to apply for the prize La Parole aux 18-28 can provide a written contribution (free format) on the theme of a session/debate on the program of the Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence. The three laureates will each receive a prize of 1,000 euros.

The selection criteria will focus on :

  • The relevance of the subject and the reflection. The problematic addressed should be linked to the subjects of the sessions/debates of the 2020 programme of the Rencontres Economiques d’Aix-en-Provence.
  • The strength of the proposals / recommendations that come out of it.
  • The quality of drafting.
  • The clarity of the document.

This jury, chaired by Etienne Klein, will be made up of members of the Cercle des économistes, business partners of La Parole aux 18-28, journalists and qualified personalities.

The jury’s decision is final. The jury reserves the right to reject any application that does not comply with the conditions of participation..

The results will be made public on 18 May on the website www.laparoleaux18-28.fr.

 

Article 9: Awards

The three winners will each receive a prize of €1,000.

 

Article 10: Protection of personal data

The nominative information collected in the context of this competition is processed in accordance with the French law “Informatique et Libertés” n°78-17 of 6 January 1978 and the European Parliament Regulation (EU)2016/679 on the protection of personal data and the protection of privacy and professional secrecy.

The names and e-mail addresses of the 100 selected candidates will be made available to the group to enable them to exchange information.

Candidates have the right to access, rectify and cancel any information concerning them collected on the “La Parole aux 18-28” participation form at the Cercle des économistes, the sole recipient of this information. The candidate may write to paroleaux18-28@cercledeseconomistes.fr.

Un événement du Cercle des économistes
Espace Presse Inscription à #AIXENSEINE

A la suite des contraintes sanitaires et de l’interdiction de rassemblements publics qui nous interdisent d’accueillir tout public, nous avons modifié l’organisation des Rencontres économiques d’Aix en Provence des 2, 3, 4 et 5 juillet 2020 avec des débats diffusés à partir de la  maison de la Radio à Paris.

 Les Rencontres deviennent  « Aix en Seine ».

En conséquence nous sommes obligés de modifier certaines dispositions des conditions de participation de La Parole aux 18-28 car nous ne sommes pas en mesure d’accueillir les 120 candidats de l’Appel à candidater sélectionnés, à Aix en Provence les 2, 3, 4 et 5 juillet 2020.

Les modalités de participation au programme dédié à La Parole aux 18-28 et de la Cérémonie de remise du Prix vous seront communiquées très rapidement.

 

Article 1 : Présentation de l’appel à candidater pour la Parole aux 18-28

Organisé par le Cercle des économistes et France Culture, l’appel à candidater pour La Parole aux 18-28, vise à sélectionner 100 jeunes (18-28 ans) pour les inviter à participer aux 20e Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence les 3,4 et 5 juillet prochains.

À gagner :  3 journées exceptionnelles de débats et sessions et un programme dédié aux jeunes, une matinée de Master classes inédites, des rendez-vous exclusifs et informels avec un panel de conférenciers prestigieux, des prises de parole organisées ainsi que des soirées culturelles + un prix de 1 000 euros pour chacun des trois lauréats.

Les 100 candidats sélectionnés seront invités par le Cercle des économistes et France Culture qui prendont à leurs charges le transport SNCF Paris- Aix-en-Provence A/R ou Province – Aix-en-Provence A/R, l’hébergement des nuits du 2,3 et 4 juillet 2020, la restauration des 3 jours ainsi que les soirées culturelles.

Sélection en deux étapes :
Etape 1 : La sélection des 100 jeunes
Etape 2 : La sélection des trois lauréats du prix La Parole aux 18-28

Déposer sa candidature sur le site www.laparoleaux18-28.fr

  • Etape 1 :
    20 décembre 2019 – 23 février 2020 à minuit: Dépôt d’un dossier complet (formulaire d’inscription et CV) selon les modalités citées dans l’article 5.
    => 16 mars : Annonce des 100 jeunes sélectionnés et invités par le Cercle des économistes à participer à la 20e édition des Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence.
  • Etape 2 :
    17 mars 2020 – 19 avril 2020
    : Participation volontaire par la production d’une contribution écrite (format libre) sur le thème des Rencontres Économiques et son programme pour gagner un des trois prix La Parole aux 18-28 doté chacun de 1 000€.
    11 mai : Délibération du jury, présidé par Étienne Klein, physicien, directeur de recherches au CEA et docteur en philosophie des sciences.
    => 18 mai : Annonce des Lauréats du Prix La Parole aux 18-28, sélectionnés par le jury.

Le dispositif La Parole aux 18-28 est soutenu par le Ministère de l’Éducation nationale, de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche (MESR), Aix-Marseille Université (AMU), la Conférence des Directeurs des Écoles Françaises d’ingénieurs (CDEFI), la Conférence des Grandes Écoles (CGE), la Conférence des Présidents d’Université (CPU) ainsi que de nombreuses entreprises-partenaires et associations d’étudiants.

 

Article 2 : Présentation du contexte : les Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence

Chaque année aux Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence, un thème précurseur est choisi et développé à l’occasion de plusieurs sessions et débats, réunissant universitaires, personnalités politiques, représentants d’institutions internationales et chefs d’entreprise du monde entier dans le but de nourrir le débat économique à l’échelle française, européenne et internationale. Ces Rencontres sont devenues le plus grand forum économique français grâce à un programme toujours plus riche.

Un public de plus en plus nombreux et l’exigence des débats en ont fait la renommée de cet événement, reflétant ainsi l’engagement du Cercle des économistes et de ses membres pour un débat économique ouvert français, européen et mondial.

 

Article 3 : Description du Thème

L’édition 2020 des Rencontres Économiques aura comme titre et thème principal :

« Agir face aux dérèglements du monde »

Les thèmes des trois dernières éditions constituent ainsi un véritable triptyque autour des nouvelles aspirations de chacun, de la transformation de nos modèles de sociétés et de l’évolution des relations entre les agents économiques. Ces trois années d’analyses, de réflexions et de débats ont permis d’identifier les enjeux les plus urgents, de comprendre les désirs de chacun et d’ébaucher des voies de solution globales acceptables. Mais analyser et proposer ne suffit plus face à l’urgence des problématiques qui pèsent sur nos sociétés. Cette 20ème édition devra donc être celle de l’engagement, de l’appel à l’action et à la coopération.

La gravité du contexte actuel est désormais largement reconnue mais les risques que nous avons identifiés restent sans réponse concrète : changement climatique ; abandon progressif du multilatéralisme ; recul démocratique ; tensions géopolitiques majeures ; angoisse face à l’accélération du développement des nouvelles technologies ; fractures sociales et territoriales ; bouleversement des modes de vie et de consommation… Cette description angoissante ne doit cependant pas nous paralyser. Au contraire, l’immobilisme serait la pire des réponses à ces différents enjeux. Il nous faut maintenant mettre en œuvre des actions concrètes à tous les niveaux, qu’elles soient économiques ou sociales, technologiques ou politiques, collectives ou individuelles, cordonnées ou d’initiative privée… Mais les freins et interrogations demeurent nombreux :

  • Comment agir dans un monde complexe et non-coopératif ?
  • L’action individuelle est-elle trop marginale pour avoir un impact ?
  • La stratégie doit-elle être définie par l’État, les institutions ou les acteurs ?
  • La technologie nous enferme-t-elle ou nous donne-t-elle de nouveaux moyens ?
  • L’Union européenne sera-t-elle plus forte sans le Royaume-Uni ?
  • Sommes-nous trop timorés pour sauver notre planète ?

 

Article 4 : Conditions de participation

Sont invités à participer à cet appel à candidatures, tous les jeunes (étudiants, actifs…) de 18 à 28 ans, domiciliés en France métropolitaine pour l’année en cours.

La participation implique et emporte l’acceptation sans réserve du présent règlement dans son intégralité.

 

Article 5 : Modalités d’inscription

La candidature devra comprendre :

  • Le formulaire d’inscription dûment rempli y compris les réponses aux questions définissant la motivation, projet, personnalité du candidat complétées pour la validation du dossier. Le formulaire d’inscription est disponible sur le site :  www.laparoleaux18-28.fr
  • Un CV complet en format pdf
  • La copie d’un justificatif d’identité (CNI ou passeport)
  • Une déclaration sur l’honneur indiquant que le candidat a bien pris connaissance des conditions d’inscription de « La Parole aux 18-28 » et l’accepte. Il s’engage en cas de sélection, à participer aux Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence du jeudi 2 juillet après-midi au dimanche 5 juillet 2020 à 14H00.

Tous les documents du dossier de participation devront être déposés sur le site www.laparoleaux18-28.fr avant le 23 février 2020 à minuit

La prise en compte de la candidature devient effective à réception de l’ensemble du dossier complet.

 

Article 6 : Calendrier de l’Appel à candidater

Étape 1 

  • 20 décembre 2019 : Ouverture de l’appel à candidatures.
  • 23 février 2020 à minuit : Clôture de l’appel à candidatures.
  • 16 mars 2020 : Publication de la liste des 100 sélectionnés par le Cercle des économistes sur le site www.laparoleaux18-28.fr.

Étape 2 

  • 17 mars 2020 : Lancement auprès des 100 sélectionnés d’un appel à contribution écrite volontaire (format libre) sur le thème des Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence 2020, « Agir face aux dérèglements du monde » pour gagner un des trois prix La Parole aux 18-28 doté chacun de 1 000€.
  • 19 avril 2020 : Clôture de l’appel à contributions sur le thème des Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence 2020.
  • 11 mai 2020 : Délibération du jury présidé par Étienne Klein pour élire trois lauréats du prix La Parole aux 18-28.
  • 18 mai 2020 : annonce des trois lauréats du prix La Parole aux 18-28, édition 2020 sur le site www.laparoleaux18-28.fr.

Étape 3

  • 3,4 et 5 juillet 2020 : Participation des 100 sélectionnés aux Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence et remise aux trois lauréats du Prix La Parole aux 18-28 (arrivée à prévoir dès le 2 juillet à la mi-journée).

 

Article 7 : Engagements du candidat

Le candidat s’engage, s’il est sélectionné, à participer aux journées des Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence les 3,4 et 5 juillet 2020. Arrivée à prévoir le jeudi 2 juillet à la mi-journée.

Le candidat garantit au Cercle des économistes de disposer de tous les droits portant sur les images, les textes et autres éléments se trouvant dans ses travaux de réflexion sur le programme des Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence 2020.

 

Article 8 : Procédure de sélection des lauréats et critères d’évaluation

Étape 1

La sélection des 100 candidatures 18-28 ans se fera sur la base d’un CV et de la motivation exprimée en réponse aux questions posées.

Ils seront sélectionnés par le Cercle des économistes et France Culture. La procédure de sélection prendra en compte la diversité des formations et des expériences, le parcours des candidats, la motivation à participer aux Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence.

  • Rigueur et originalité de l’argumentation en vue de participer aux Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence
  • Intérêt des réponses aux questions de personnalité/projet.

Étape 2 (facultative)

Parmi les 100 sélectionnés de l’étape 1, ceux qui souhaitent candidater au prix La Parole aux 18-28 peuvent fournir une contribution écrite (format libre) sur le thème d’une session/débat du programme des Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence. Les trois lauréats recevront chacun un Prix doté de 1 000 euros.

Les critères de sélection porteront sur :

  • La pertinence du sujet et de la réflexion. La problématique abordée devra être reliée aux sujets des sessions/débats du programme 2020 des Rencontres Économiques d’Aix-en-Provence.
  • La force de propositions /recommandations qui en découle.
  • La qualité de rédaction.
  • La clarté du document.

Ce jury, présidé par Etienne Klein, sera composé de membres du Cercle des économistes, de France Culture, de partenaires entreprises de la Parole aux 18-28, de journalistes et personnalités qualifiées.

La décision du jury est sans appel. Le jury se réservera le droit de rejeter tout dossier non conforme aux conditions de participation.

Les résultats seront rendus publics le 18 mai sur le site www.laparoleaux18-28.fr.

 

Article 9 : Prix

Les trois lauréats recevront chacun un prix doté de 1 000 euros.

 

Article 10 : Protection des données personnelles

Les informations nominatives recueillies dans le cadre du présent concours sont traitées conformément à la loi « Informatique et Libertés » n°78-17 du 6 janvier 1978 et du règlement (UE)2016/679 du Parlement Européen relatif à la protection des données à caractère personnel et relevé de la vie privée et du secret professionnel.

Les noms et adresses électroniques des 100 sélectionnés seront à la disposition du groupe afin de leur permettre des échanges.

Les candidats bénéficient auprès du Cercle des économistes, seul destinataire de ces informations, d’un droit d’accès, de rectification et d’annulation des informations recueillies sur le formulaire de participation à « La Parole aux 18-28 » et les concernant.  Le candidat peut écrire à paroleaux18-28@cercledeseconomistes.fr.